Teeth cleaning cost in government hospital dental departments is between nothing and ₹200: the Maulana Azad Institute of Dental Sciences (MAIDS) in Delhi lists scaling (“oral prophylaxis”) at ₹200 on its charge sheet, and AIIMS New Delhi’s dental charge sheet does not list it as a separate charge at all. Fillings are ₹50 to ₹150 a tooth, a root canal ₹250 to ₹500, a denture ₹500 to ₹1,000. Those are the figures on the two published charge sheets, dated 2016 and 2013, and they are a fraction of what a private clinic charges. This page explains what each procedure is, how to register at the two Delhi institutes and at any state dental college, what the Jan Aushadhi Kendra sells for your teeth, and what a government dentist will say about whitening.
General information, not dental advice. The AIIMS figures are from its outpatient charges notice of 5 April 2016 and the MAIDS figures from its user charges notice of 23 July 2013; neither institute publishes a newer sheet that we could find, so confirm at the counter. Jan Aushadhi prices are PMBJP’s published MRP on 28 October 2026 (official Product & MRP List).
Table of Contents

Teeth cleaning cost in government hospital dental OPDs: the charge sheets
| Procedure | AIIMS New Delhi (CDER), 2016 sheet | MAIDS, Delhi, 2013 sheet |
|---|---|---|
| OPD registration / card | ₹10 (new registration, valid for the calendar year) | ₹10 OPD card; ₹20 file charge when needed |
| Scaling (teeth cleaning, “oral prophylaxis”) | Not listed as a separate charge; ask at the counter | ₹200 |
| Preventive dental care | Not listed | Free |
| Extraction, per tooth | ₹25 | Free |
| Filling (restoration), per tooth | ₹50 (class I) / ₹100 (class II) | ₹150 |
| Root canal treatment | ₹250 | ₹500 |
| Intra-oral X-ray | Not listed in the dental section | ₹30 |
| Acrylic full crown | ₹100 | Metal or metal-ceramic crown ₹1,000 plus lab charges |
| Complete denture, one jaw / both jaws | ₹500 / ₹1,000 | Single complete denture ₹750 |
| Dental implant | Not listed | ₹4,000 plus implant, consumables and lab charges |
| Teeth whitening (bleaching) | Not listed | Not listed |

Two things make the real teeth cleaning cost in government hospital OPDs lower than the table. First, AIIMS abolished user charges for every investigation and laboratory test costing up to ₹300 in May 2022, for OPD and general-ward patients. The order as reported covers tests, not treatment, so do not assume it makes a dental procedure such as the ₹25 extraction or the ₹250 root canal free; ask at the CDER counter. Second, MAIDS is a Delhi Government institute, and the Delhi Government announced the waiver of user charges at its hospitals from 1 February 2016, three years after the MAIDS sheet was issued. Whether that waiver reaches dental procedures at MAIDS is not stated on either institute’s website, so treat the sheet as the most you should pay and ask at registration what applies to you.
Scaling first, whitening second (and maybe not at all)
The searches that bring most readers here are for whitening strips, pens and LED kits. A government dentist will tell you what a private one often does not: most “yellow” teeth are stained and tartar-covered, not discoloured, and a scaling and polishing removes the stain. Scaling uses an ultrasonic tip to lift tartar from above and just below the gum line, takes twenty to forty minutes, and is the procedure listed at ₹200 on the MAIDS sheet. Polishing with a paste follows. That is what most people need, and it also treats the bleeding gums that come with the tartar.
Whitening, in dental language bleaching, uses hydrogen or carbamide peroxide to change the colour of the enamel itself. Neither the AIIMS nor the MAIDS charge sheet lists it, which fits: it is cosmetic, and government dental colleges prioritise treatment over cosmetics. Some teaching departments of conservative dentistry do offer in-office bleaching on request, but that is not stated on any charge sheet we found, so ask the department before you plan on it. Home kits bought online use lower peroxide strengths; they do work on genuinely discoloured teeth, but they do nothing for tartar, they cause sensitivity, and they should not be used on teeth with untreated cavities or gum disease. A dentist’s check comes first either way.
How to register at AIIMS CDER, MAIDS or a state dental college

- AIIMS New Delhi, Centre for Dental Education and Research (CDER). New patients register on the ORS portal (₹10, valid for the calendar year) and choose the dental department; the exact department names and OPD times are shown on ORS when you book. The CDER building is on the main AIIMS campus. Our AIIMS Delhi OPD guide covers the ORS steps.
- MAIDS, Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, Delhi. Registration 8:30 to 10:30 am, Monday to Saturday, at the OPD counter (₹10 card). The institute describes its charges as minimal and treats patients from weaker sections free. No online booking. The MAIDS citizens’ charter gives slightly longer hours (central registration to 11:30 am), so arriving by 10:30 is the safe choice.
- Any government dental college. Every state has at least one; the OPD card is ₹0 to ₹20 and the procedure charges are of the same order as the MAIDS sheet. Teaching colleges do most routine work through final-year students and postgraduates under supervision, which is why it is cheap and why a scaling can take an extra sitting.
- District hospital dental OPD. Scaling, extractions and simple fillings; anything more is referred to the college.
- Carry an ID, any old X-rays, and your list of medicines; blood thinners and diabetes matter for extractions.
Jan Aushadhi Kendra: what it sells for your teeth
| Product | Pack | MRP | Drug code | Used for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chlorhexidine mouthwash 0.2% | 100 ml | ₹23.72 | 117 | After scaling, gum infection; short courses only |
| Potassium nitrate 5% toothpaste | 100 g | ₹46.41 | 2005 | Sensitive teeth |
| Potassium nitrate 5% + fluoride toothpaste gel | 100 g | ₹32.81 | 2622 | Sensitive teeth, with fluoride |
| Chlorhexidine + metronidazole + lidocaine dental gel | 15 g | ₹18.75 | 2056 | Gum pain and infection, on a dentist’s advice |
These four are on PMBJP’s list and are what a dentist is likely to write after a scaling: a chlorhexidine mouthwash for a week or two (longer use stains teeth, which rather defeats the point), and a potassium nitrate toothpaste if the cleaned teeth are sensitive. The Kendra does not sell whitening products. For the Kendra’s other prices, see the Jan Aushadhi medicine price list.
Frequently asked questions
What is the teeth cleaning cost in a government hospital?
₹200 at MAIDS, Delhi, by its 2013 charge sheet, and not listed as a separate charge at AIIMS New Delhi by its 2016 sheet. State dental colleges are in the same range, often less. Confirm at the counter; the ₹10 OPD card is the only certain cost.
सरकारी अस्पताल में दाँत साफ़ कराने (स्केलिंग) का खर्च कितना है?
दिल्ली के MAIDS में ₹200 (2013 की सूची), एम्स दिल्ली की सूची में अलग से कोई शुल्क नहीं। OPD कार्ड ₹10। भरवाना ₹50 से ₹150 प्रति दाँत, रूट कैनाल ₹250 से ₹500। काउंटर पर पुष्टि कर लें।
Does AIIMS do teeth whitening?
Whitening (bleaching) is not on the AIIMS dental charge sheet. Ask at CDER; some teaching departments do it on request at material cost. Scaling and polishing, which removes stains, is the routine procedure.
Is scaling bad for teeth?
No. It removes tartar that the brush cannot, and the sensitivity afterwards settles in days. The MAIDS and AIIMS sheets list it among routine procedures.
Can I get a root canal at a government hospital?
Yes: ₹250 at AIIMS and ₹500 at MAIDS by their sheets, plus the crown afterwards (₹100 acrylic at AIIMS; ₹1,000 plus lab charges for metal-ceramic at MAIDS).
Sources checked
- AIIMS New Delhi, Outpatient Charges & Inpatient Hospitalization Charges, notice of 5 April 2016: the Dental Surgery section and the ₹10 registration.
- MAIDS, Revision of User Charges on specialised services, 23 July 2013: every MAIDS figure.
- MAIDS FAQ: registration hours and the minimal-charges statement.
- MAIDS citizens’ charter: central registration 8:30 to 11:30 am.
- PMBJP Product & MRP List, read 28 October 2026: the Jan Aushadhi prices and drug codes.
- Press reports of 19-20 May 2022 (The Tribune, Medical Dialogues) on AIIMS abolishing user charges up to ₹300, and of January 2016 on the Delhi Government waiving user charges from 1 February 2016.
